Writing 101: Third Time’s the Charm

Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

For inspiration, ponder the phrase “lost and found.” What do you think about or visualize when you read this phrase? For an elementary schooler, it might be a box in their classroom, full of forgotten jackets and random toys. For a frequent traveler, it might be a facility in an airport, packed with lost phones, abandoned bags, and misplaced items.

On day four, you wrote about losing something. On day thirteen, you then wrote about finding something. So, today’s twist: If you’d like to continue our serial challenge, also reflect on the theme of “lost and found” more generally in this post.

*****
For the preceding blogposts, please click here- Serially lost and Serially found.

For one month, I was in charge of cleaning duty of my class. Every day, after the school got over, five students from each class would be appointed to clean the mess created by the class. We used to broom the floor, mop it and dust off the benches. This was done to inculcate in us a feeling of self- discipline and the significance of clean surroundings and hygiene. Being the in-charge, my job was to ensure that everybody did their task properly. Also, I had to collect the things students forgot in the class and dole them to their respective owners the next day.
One fine afternoon, I was standing at the podium and monitoring my pals when a girl on duty came and handed over to me the things that our classmates had forgotten. One by one, I began placing those things in the drawer. The last thing in that pile was a piece of paper on which there was depicted a story in the form of pictures and text.
It was the story of a forlorn girl whom I believed had been very rich, then, and hopefully now also! She had shown herself as a lonely girl, in tears, unwanted by her parents. Unwanted, because her parents were too busy to spend any quality time with her! They weren’t obsequious to her talks, thoughts, and desires.
After the cleaning duty got over, I came back home. As always, I discussed this with my mother and asked her about that forlorn girl’s situation. Back then, I was 10 and incapable of understanding things. My mom, as moms always do to their young kids, politely derailed from the question. With some story and her words, she convinced me to whatever she said. Mothers are, indeed, the best creation of God. Till date, my mom has the potentiality to convince me on matters nobody else can.
Then, I hadn’t understood anything. But, when I think about it today, I realize what it means for a child if she/he is ignored by her/his parents and what impact can this have on the child’s psychology. To a child, her parents represent the world. Whatever the parents do is right since a child doesn’t have the intelligence to distinguish between right and wrong. If the parents treat the child with love and affection and imbibe in her a feeling of importance and value, the child grows up to become a confident person. On the contrary, if the parents can’t spare their time for their kid, the kid will get a sense of negligence and will be under-confident. Having received such a paper from a 10 year old classmate is, certainly, one of the most peculiar and thought invoking thing I have witnessed in my life. Also, now I realize that losing a notebook or two was nothing in front of losing one’s childhood. A lost notebook can be made again, however, a lost childhood might lead to the loss of a person.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101: Third Time’s the Charm

Leave a Reply

