Lost my notebooks

Writing 101: Serially Lost Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more. This doesn’t need to be a depressing exercise; you can write about that time you lost the three-legged race at a picnic. What’s important is reflecting on this experience and what it meant for you — how it felt, why it happened, and what changed because of it. Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series. I was 10, in the fifth grade. It was the standard in which we started working with pens in school. It was a milestone standard for me for several reasons. One, we had abjured the pencils and had just begun using the fountain pen. Two, fifth grade marked the beginning of our seniority. Three, on the personal front, I had joined a new group of people, cliques. Until then, my perception was that it wasn’t easy to get into that group. One fine day, after the summer vacations had gotten over, I failed to find my English notebook. That was also the year when we started writing long answers on our own. Homework and class-work (as we called it) of two months had been lost. It meant a lot to me- a 10 year old losing her notebook only to make it, again, by hand. I wasn’t allowed to get it photocopied. The teacher felt it was good if I did the entire work again by hand. Fortunately, my mom came to my rescue and she did most of the writing for me, or she would dictate and I would write. Days later, I discovered I had lost another notebook, this time Moral Education. With this notebook also, my two months of homework and class-work were at stake. This time I tried even harder to find it. To much of my dismay, I failed to find it even. Again, my mom helped me make that notebook. However, this time, I got a fair share of scolding for not being able to take care of my things. This has been one of the losses of my life as a child. There are several other losses bigger than this- loss of my childhood school crony is amongst those. That was also when I was 10. It meant a lot to me since friends are your lifeline when you are young. You don’t understand the shrewdness of the world. Relationships are so pure and serene. To find out whether I received my notebooks back or not, please click here.

PS: Although I haven’t mentioned any name in the post, people mentioned here might read this and recognize themselves. To all of you, I want to say one thing- Today, I hold no grudges aginst you. Just for this assignment, I dug deep into my past and found this. The feelings described above are what I felt when I was 10, not today. I have moved over these childhood trifles.

2 thoughts on “Lost my notebooks

Leave a Reply

