Zoom in the court!

Writing 101: A Room with a View (or Just a View)
If you could zoom through space in the speed of light, what place would you go to right now?

A 60 feetX30 feet ground with a 7 fee4 inches net hung directly above the center line; 6 players on each side; 10 minutes to 7 in the morning and a white chalk to demarcate the boundaries of the court!
The game’s set; the ball ready! The booster on place; 3 girls on the foreplay and 2 on the rear! The girl on the service tosses the ball, stretches her arm and hand high in the air and hits the ball with momentum. The ball with yellow, white and blue stripes with parabolic trajectory, reaches the other side of the court. 3 touch play and the ball tosses over the net from one side of the court to the other.
The bell rings at 20 minutes past 7 and we run to our classes. At least for the first two lecture periods, volleyball took the reins of my mind. The blue sky with the orange gleam of the sun was a mesmerizing view. But there was something that enchanted me more than this. It was the ball- the ‘Volleyball’.
It has been 5 years now since I had played the game last night. To much of my dismay, only 2 or 3 girls played volleyball in my college and I had abjured the guys. The apathy is we couldn’t collaborate with each other. I had lost the enticing game.
If given a chance today, I want to visit the court again, spend some time with my fellow teammates, and learn few more techniques from my coach. I wasn’t a player at the national, state or district level- I had played several tournaments though! But being able to play the game was the biggest reward. I hope to adjust my schedule to resume playing someday.

2 thoughts on “Zoom in the court!

  1. vakunzmann says:

    I like your uncommon word choices, it brings zest to an everyday subject such as volleyball. For example, “demarcate the boundaries” and “parabolic trajectory” are well out of the ordinary for this sport, and that makes it stand out in a good way.
    However, I didn’t quite understand “The apathy is we couldn’t collaborate with each other. I had lost the enticing game.” You might consider clarifying those two sentences for the reader.
    Thank you for sharing. ~victoria

Leave a Reply

