Advantage of Foresight

You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, it at all?

So, I have a new power, the power of predicting things- I can tell people what’s in store for them. Within seconds of having read the daily prompt, I had begun imagining myself as a futurist. I was telling people what lies in store for them- giving people a vivid description of their future- opening the Pandora’s box for them. For some I was Cassandra, for others a fortune-teller. I had been telling people to be prepared for tomorrow- asked a few to be ready to celebrate, while I asked others to be prepared for some ordeal that was about to grip their lives. I wasn’t doing this for free. For every prediction I made that turned out to be true, I charged people exorbitantly. After all I was their savior. Making my fortune by gazing at a crystal, not literally though. But then losing a day for each prediction; was it really worth it? For whom was I gathering money, when my own life was being reduced to countable days? Weren’t I gambling?

fortune_teller

I turned myself into my own sibyl. Predicting tomorrow, sometimes things turned out to be true whilst at other times; I ended up losing another day! A shorter life began to scare me. I had countable days left and not even half of the legions of wishes I had, had come true. Each day began threatening me. Soon I found myself lain down on my stomach in front of God begging him to undo what I had done.
This was when my catnap broke and I realized that all that I saw was a dream- a nightmare! Soon, I got up and thanked God for not having turned my dream into reality.

Leave a Reply

